Raise Your Hands in the Battle

I worked with a personal trainer who put me through an intense weight training program. During our year-long plus sessions, I would be tested at various points to assess my progress. One of the exercises used was what is called a “max bench press.” In this exercise, the trainer would put a baseline amount of weight on the bar and increase the weight to test how much weight I could lift. Over time, my strength increased and I was able to lift more weight. However, there were times when the weight was too much to lift and I would need the trainer’s help to put the bar back on the rack. If I did not ask for the trainer’s help, I could have been seriously injured by the weight.

The total weight of our life experiences can weigh us down. There are times when the burdens can weigh us down gradually or we will be hit suddenly with an “Olympic-sized” load.  We can find ourselves weighed down by any number of things: the consequences of our sins, family issues, career struggles, financial obligations, addictions, terminal illness, and so on and so forth. If we try to tackle these issues on our own, the struggle will be much harder and we will find ourselves beaten down. We do not have to carry our burdens alone.

The ability to delegate is an important skill to have not only in business, but in life. If we can allow others, namely God to help us with the struggles and burdens we face, our lives will be much better and we will not be so weighed down. However, there are times when pride, fear of being perceived as weak, or even false humility will prevent us from asking for help. Delegation is a biblical concept, as you do not see David without Solomon, Jesus without the disciples, Paul without Timothy, the Apostles without the elders, or Moses without Aaron and Joshua.

The story of Moses is one that stresses the importance of not taking on burdens alone, for God and others are with us. In Exodus 17, Moses and the Israelites went to war with Amalek. Moses was to stand on top of a hill with the rod of God in his hand as Joshua and the Israelites fought with Amalek.

“And it came to pass, when Moses held up his hand, that Israel prevailed: and when he let down his hand, Amalek prevailed. But Moses’ hands were heavy; and they took a stone, and put it under him, and he sat thereon; and Aaron and Hur stayed up his hands, the one on the one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun. And Joshua discomfited Amalek and his people with the edge of the sword.” (Exodus 17:11-13, KJV).

At first glance, this seems like an ordinary passage about a battle, but there is so much symbolism behind it:

*Moses stood on top of the hill (He had the high ground).

*Moses raised his hands toward Heaven.

*Moses had the rod of God in his hand (God’s authority).

*Moses sat on the rock (the Psalms use the expression “The Lord is my rock”).

*God sent two other people to lift up Moses arms.

*Moses kept up his arms and the battle was won.

We can and will win the battle we are facing if we lift our hands to God. As Christians, we have the spiritual authority to overtake the enemy. We can come to the throne room with boldness and grace. As Moses had the rod of God, Aaron, and Hur, we have God the Father, the Lord Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit. As I write this, my inner spirit man is leaping for joy. Brothers and sisters, I will leave you with verses about lifting our hands. God bless you all.

“To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that they might be glorified.” (Isaiah 61:3, KJV).

“Hear the voice of my supplications, when I cry unto thee, when I lift up my hands toward the holy oracle.” (Psalm 28:2, KJV).

“Thus will I bless thee while I live: I will lift up my hands in thy Name.” (Psalm 63:4, KJV).

“My hands also will I lift up unto thy commandments, which I have loved; and I will meditate in thy statutes.” (Psalm 119:48, KJV).

“Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.” (Psalm 141:2, KJV).

 

One thought on “Raise Your Hands in the Battle

Leave a Reply

