I’ve Accepted the Fact

By Michael W. Raley

I’ve accepted the fact that you’re not coming.

As to the reality of unanswered prayers and crushed hopes, I am succumbing.

I know you would have brought out the best in me,

I would have provided for your every need.

As I try to go on living my life,

I do my best to push these thoughts aside,

Trying not to mourn over the loss and torment.

Instead, I try to be grateful for what I have in the moment.

Perhaps just as tragic as the life struck down before its prime

Is the life of one who never had his or her time.

There will always be a black hole in my portion of time and space

That  I will never understand nor will I ever be able to erase.

 

Leave a Reply

